Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

South Side High School: Databases

Create an APA Citation, Reference Page and Parenthetical Citations

Databases

Databases Listed Alphabetically                                Databases Listed by Subject


​General Rules for Databases

  • In school the databases will log on automatically.
  • From home, make sure you open the link to the database from the school home page and enter the passwords provided by the library.
  •  Databases do not answer questions. Do not phrase your search as a question. 

  •  Think of keywords or phrases that best describe your search.

    • For example: If you are investigating how weight effects fuel consumption in a car, do not write: How does the weight of a car effect fuel consumption?

      • Brainstorm search terms. Choose different terms for different results.  For example: car, automobile, weight, fuel, gas, mileage.

  •  Use the ADVANCED Search. This allows you to focus your results.

  •  Use citation tools to create a citation for your source.

  •  Make sure the citation you are using from the database is the correct style for the paper you are citing.

    •  If you are citing in Science or Psychology, make sure you choose APA

    • If you are citing in History, Math, Foreign Language or English choose MLA