Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Where to find sources for your FOA
Use these databases:
|Opposing Viewpoints - Includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, magazines, statistics and more. Examines current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more.
||Provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers. It also includes thousands of images, radio, and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
||Provide access to the most searched magazines focusing on current events, sports, science and health issues.
- Databases do not answer questions. Do not phrase your search as a question.
- Think of keywords or phrases that best describe your search.
- For example: Do not write: How does the weight of a car effect fuel consumption?
- Brainstorm search terms. Choose different terms for different results.
- For example: car, automobile, weight, fuel, gas, mileage, structure.
- Use the ADVANCED Search. This allows you to focus your results.
- Use citation tools to create a citation for your source.
- Make sure the citation you are using from the database is the correct style. These databases will default to MLA.
*** These databases will work in Internet Explorer but work best in Chrome or Safari.