Skip to main content

Enduring Issues: Home

The Assignment

To successfully complete your assignment you must understand the following definitions:

  • To identify: is to put a name to something
  •  To define: is to explain the features or nature of something
  •  To argue: is to provide  reasons or cite evidence in support of an idea, action, or theory

First

  • Choose a topic. Example: Crusades. 
    • Find an article about the Crusades. What specific enduring issue is the article about? War, Interconnectedness?, Environment, etc.

Instructions on Database Use:

  • For the source from class:
    • Use the left column of databases. These have encyclopedia articles.
      • Cite your source: At the top of the article there will be buttons. Select the button that says source and click it. 
        • Make sure you select the MLA source type.
      •  Save your article to Google drive. Make sure your pop-up blocker for Safari is turned off.
        • Go to Settings and select Safari. Scroll down to find pop-up blocker. If the button is green, switch it off.
  • For the source in the last ten year:
    • Use the right column of databases. These have current event articles.
      • Cite your source: At the top of the article there will be buttons. Select the button that says source and click it. 
        • Make sure you select the MLA source type.
      • Save your article to Google drive. Make sure your pop-up blocker for Safari is turned off.
      • Go to Settings and select Safari. Scroll down to find pop-up blocker. If the button is green, switch it off.
    • For Proquest use the Advance Search. Make sure to select Full Text box
      • At the bottom of the screen:
        • Left box: limit your search to magazines and news. 
        • Middle box: limit search to articles
        • End box: limit language to English

 

Databases - You should save all your articles for this assignment to your google drive

Databases for source from class

Database for source within last 10 years

external image abchist_logo.gif USE THIS LINK IN SCHOOL

 

USE THIS LINK WHEN SEARCH ABC CLIO FROM HOME!

Image result for world history in context logo

Image result for world history in context logo

Citing

Create a citation in MLA style:

  • For the database, click on the citation tool in the database to retrieve your article's citation. Make sure you select the MLA citation.

Sentence Starters

Identify & Define

Possible starters to introduce Enduring Issue:

Throughout history, the issue of __________________ has endured as a challenge.  This __(issue/problem)____________________ is best defined as_________________.

OR

The     (issue/problem)                  is best defined as ________________________________________________.


Possible starters to introduce evidence for the Enduring Issue:

According to (name of the document, author, etc.) people were affected by (Enduring Issue) because of _________________________________________________________________________.

OR

The significance of (issue/problem) can best be seen in ______name of document, author, etc._____________ when it discusses _______________________________________.

OR

The way that ____name of document, author, etc.___________ (explains, supports, gives an example of) the enduring issue is by _____________________________________________________________.

OR

According to (name of the document, author, etc.) the way the (Enduring Issue) has changed/or not changed) is _________________________________________________________________________.

OR

An example of this issue is ________________________________________________________________________.

 

Phrases to help identify an enduring issue

  • Need for/to
  • Competition over
  • Lack of'
  • Scarcity of 
  • Effects of
  • Impact of
  • Change(s) in/to
  • Conflict(s) over
  • Rejection/acceptance of
  • Threats of/to