Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Theatre Guides: Home

General Theatre Websites - Use These Websites to Research all Aspects of Theatre

TheatreHistory.com - Excellent site
Internet Broadway Database
Justin Theatre Links - Online directory to thousands of theatre resources.
Moonstruck Bookstore -Online source for plays, sheet music, theatre news and provides encyclopedia-style biographies.
New York Times Theatre Connection
Theatre Database.com
Theatre History of the Web - Maintained by Jack Wolcott of the University of Washington School of Drama
Theatre History websites - Links to theatre websites including Classical theatre, Ancient theatre and Elizabethan theatre.
WWW Virtual Library for Theatre & Drama

Types of Theatre

Ancient Theatre

Ancient Greek Theatre - History of Ancient Greek Theatre
Ancient Greek Theatre - A brief introduction to Ancient Greek Theater
Ancient Greek Theatre - Reed University
Ancient Theatre Pictures - Classical Origins of Western Culture -
Dr. J Illustrated Lectures to the classical world
Greek and Roman Glossary
PBS Greek Theatre
 

Asian Theatre

Ancient Rome and Greece

General Theatre Websites - Use These Websites to Research all Aspects of Theatre

Ancient Theatre

Databases for Historical Context

Image result for world history in context logo

 

external image abchist_logo.gif

 

Image preview

Theatre Biographies

General Biography Websites:
Academy of Achievers - Leaders, visionaries and pioneers who shaped the world.
Biography.com - Famous biographies
Hyper History Timeline - History timeline with brief bios for important people including scientists, artists, composers and politicians.
Multnomah County Library Mega-Bio Site - Links to hundreds of biography websites.

Actors/Actresses Biographies
Ringling Images of 19th Century Actors
Biography.com
Info Please.com
Internet Broadway Database
Internet Movie Database
New York Times Biographies
PBS Biographies
Who's Who in Musicals
 

Authors:
Academy of American Poets
African American Women Writers of the 19th Century