Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Databases in Alphabetical Order: Home

ABC Clio

external image abchist_logo.gif

Daily Life Through History
Pop Culture
World at War
Issues and Controversies

Facts on File

 

Ancient and Medieval History
 

Gale Databases

Make sure to look at the starred databases
- Agriculture Collection
- Business and Company ASAP
- Criminal Justice
- Culinary Arts - Custom Newspapers
- Diversity Studies
     ****Environmental Studies and Policy Collection
- Fine arts and Music - Gardening
- General One File: News and periodical articles.
- Health and Wellness Resource Center
- New York State Newspapers
- Nursing

***Opposing Viewpoints

- Pop Culture
- Popular Magazines
- Psychology Collection
- Religion - Philosophy

***Science in Context
- Vocations, Careers and Technical Education

***World History in Context

 

Newspapers

Gale e-books & History in Dispute

Database of encyclopedias and reference sources 

History in Dispute. Addresses heavily debated questions in history by offering different critical perspectives.

Gale Primary Documents

 - Rare primary source documents



JSTOR

Image preview

Over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as selected monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.

It is very important to use the ADVANCED SEARCH in JSTOR. This will allow you to narrow your search by keywords AND limit your results to journals in specific subject areas giving you fewer, more accurate results. For example, when doing a search for articles on Civil Rights you can limit the journals JSTOR will search to History Titles.

*** When you log in from home look under the JSTOR logo in the right hand corner. If it says, Your access to JSTOR provided by South Side High School, you are logged in. Once you are logged in to the school account, you can create your own account.

 

NoodleTools

Ask librarian for user name and password

Proquest

Proquest Central K12  - Newspaper, Magazine and Journal articles for all subjects.

 

If you are working from home  - click here  https://www.proquest.com/login?accountid=14001

New database open to all:  Black Freedom Struggles in the Unites States

Science Direct

Directory of Open Access Journals

An online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

Directory of Open Access Books

external image doab.png
755 Academic peer-reviewed books from 23 publishers

Magatopia

 

The Free Online Magazine Directory

 

 

Google Scholar - Unpaywall Chrome extension

Get free scholarly content from Google Scholar

Unpaywall is a free browser extension from Google Chrome that enables searcher to legally access full text research papers from its open access content. Download the free extension from the Web Store on Google Chrome. Then go to Google or Google scholar and  search for an article. You will see a tab on the right side of the screen with a picture of a lock. If the box is green, the article is free. If the box is grey, the article is not available for free.