Skip to main content

IB Chemistry: Home

Cite your Chemistry Internal Assessment in APA

The Research Question

Before you can begin your research, you will need to determine if the question you selected is going to work. You need to identify aspects of the research question that need prior research from a database.

Homework: Watch the video. Write down the research question. Examine the question for elements that you need to understand. Create five or six questions that you will need to answer before you begin your research.

IMPORTANT

**** Please note - the High School webpage has changed since the creation of this video. To access the library webpage from the high school home page click on the top tab that says Academics then scroll down to SSHS Library Media Center. Once you are at the library home page, select databases from the tab bar and complete the assighment.

 

Science

 

  Image preview JSTOR

 ThumbnailPROQUEST

Science In Context   Science in Context

 

Note Taking Sheet and Example

Database Videos

The following videos will show you techniques that will help you search databases effectively. The most important part of any research project is to READ and take good NOTES.

__________________________________________________________________

Assignment:

After viewing the two videos on how to search in the Proquest and Science and Context Databases, you will now create your own search strategies and look for information on the remaining elements of the research question that we have not addressed.

The research question asks which element is best at keeping apples from browning. The two videos demonstrated finding information on salt and apples. Now it is your turn.

A. Find an article about Vinegar that you would use in your research. The articles can be from either database. Cite the article (use the citation tool from the database to find the APA citation) and explain:

1.Why you selected the article.

2. What information was important in the article and how will it help you further your research.

B. Find an article about Lemon Juice from the databases that you would use in your research. They articles can be from either database. Cite the article and explain:

1.Why you selected the article.

2. What information was important in the article and how will it help you further your research.