Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

IB 11 History 3rd Quarter Project: Home

Third Quarter Project

PLEASE JOIN THE LIBRARY GOOGLE CLASSROOM FOR ALL DATABASE PASSWORDS:  24yg7tg

Database Passwords Link to google classroom

Gale Databases

POWER SEARCH - Search all GALE Databases at once -

Enter your search terms and then select the following databases:

 

History in Dispute e-books.

Addresses heavily debated questions in history by offering different critical perspectives.

Gale Academic One File

 Scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals.

Gale OneFile: War and Terrorism

Insight into conflicts and their causes, impact, and perception on a global scale.

 

Image result for world history in context logo

 

JSTOR

 

Image preview      *** When you log in, look under the JSTOR logo in the right hand corner. If it says Your access to JSTOR is provided by South Side High School, you are logged in. 

 

 

You can create your own account byl by selecting the Register link in the right hand corner. Use your school ID number for your username. Remember to answer the CAPTCHA questions.

It is very important to use the ADVANCED SEARCH in JSTOR.

This will allow you to narrow your search by keywords AND limit your results tto specific subject areas.

1. Enter your keywords in the search bars.

2.  Limit the search to specific subject areas. Example: History Titles and American Studies.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a Web search engine that specifically searches scholarly literature and academic resources.

Abstracts are freely available for most of the articles. Alas, reading the entire article may require a subscription. Here're a few things to try:

  1. click a library link, e.g., "FindIt@Harvard", to the right of the search result;
  2. click a link labeled [PDF] to the right of the search result;
  3. click "All versions" under the search result and check out the alternative sources;
  4. click "Related articles" or "Cited by" under the search result to explore similar articles.

Background Research Databases - Use these databases to find encyclopedic information about your topic

Image result for world history in context logo

History in Conext: Use the Reference Section for short encyclopedia articles on your topic.

 

external image abchist_logo.gif

Proquest

Proquest Central K12  - Newspaper, Magazine and Journal articles for all subjects.

How to Read an Academic Journal

 

A scholarly paper can be difficult to read. Instead of reading straight through, try focusing on the different sections and asking specific questions at each point.

 

What is your research question? 

When you select an article to read for a project or class, focus on your topic. Look for information in the article that is relevant to your research question. 

Read the abstract first. It provides a concise summary of the whole article. Usually it highlights the focus, study results and conclusion(s) of the article. 

Second: Read the introduction.

In this section, the authors introduce their topic, explain the purpose of the study, and presents why it is important.

Read the Conclusion 

Here the authors offer their final thoughts and conclusions.

  • Keep in mind your research question
  • Skim the article for information in the article relevant to your question 
  • Use any keywords printed by the journals as further clues about the article
  • Look up words you don't know