Skip to main content

IB Biology: Home

The research question - where do you begin?

Where to start?

  • Find something that interests you.  
  • For example: You have always wondered why apples turn brown after they are cut open.
  • How do you turn that into a research question? You ask questions and do basic research.
  • What is an apple? Why do apples brown? What happens when the exposed apple flesh comes into contact with air? What is air? What type of element is it? 
  • As you start to answer your questions, you will learn information about your topic and develop your research question.

The Research Question

Before you can begin your research, you will need to determine if the question you selected is going to work. You need to identify aspects of the research question that need prior research from a database.

Homework: Watch the video. Write down the research question. Examine the question for elements that you need to understand. Create five or six questions that you will need to answer before you begin your research.

 

**** Please note - the High School webpage has changed since the creation of this video. To access the library webpage from the high school home page click on the top tab that says Academics then scroll down to SSHS Library Media Center.

 

Science

 

Science In Context   Science in Context

 

Database Videos

  • ******Please note: there is a slight change in the way you access the school databases since this video was recorded. 
    • Go to the South Side High School home page
    • Select Academics
    • Select SSHS Library Media Center.
      • You must access the databases from the school library page.

After viewing the two videos on how to search in the Proquest and Science and Context Databases, you will now create your own search strategies and look for information on the remaining elements of the research question that we have not addressed.

The research question is asking which element is best at keeping apples from browning. The two videos demonstrated finding information on salt and apples. Now it is your turn.

A. Find two articles about Vinegar from the database that you would use in your research. The articles can be from either or both databases. Cite the article and explain:

1.Why you selected the article.

2. What information was important in the article and how will it help you further your research.

B. Find two articles about Lemon Juice from the databases that you would use in your research. They articles can be from either or both databases. Cite the article and explain:

1.Why you selected the article.

2. What information was important in the article and how will it help you further your research.

Cite your Biology Internal Assessment in APA

Note Taking Sheet and Example