Skip to main content

Theatre Guides: Home

General Theatre Websites - Use These Websites to Research all Aspects of Theatre

TheatreHistory.com - Excellent site
Internet Broadway Database
Justin Theatre Links - Online directory to thousands of theatre resources.
Moonstruck Bookstore -Online source for plays, sheet music, theatre news and provides encyclopedia-style biographies.
New York Times Theatre Connection
Theatre Database.com
Theatre History of the Web - Maintained by Jack Wolcott of the University of Washington School of Drama
Theatre History websites - Links to theatre websites including Classical theatre, Ancient theatre and Elizabethan theatre.
WWW Virtual Library for Theatre & Drama

Ancient Theatre

Ancient Rome and Greece

General Theatre Websites - Use These Websites to Research all Aspects of Theatre

Ancient Theatre

Commedia dell' arte

Ebooks Available: Commedia dell'arte an Actors Handbook by John Rudin

  • Discusses the origins and history of the European theatrical medium, and offers a step-by-step guide to using Commedia...

Websites

Metropolitan Museum of Art
Theatre History
Judith Chafee's Commedia dell'arte -A trained commedia coach and choreographer, Professor Chaffee presents a timeline, a bibliography, and links.
The History of British Pantomine
About.com
BBC
Internet Shakespeare Edition
iSebastiani Comedia dell'arte Troup
World Arts West
Info Please
Commedia Glossary'
Theatre Database
Candida Martinelli's Italophile Site
Commedia dell'Arte and Flaminion la Scala
Commedia Dell'Arte Stock Characters Website
Commedia dell'arte timeline
In The Name of Auguste Vestris
Commedia dell'Arte: The Masks of Antonio Fava
La Commedia Dell'Arte

 

Theatre Biographies

General Biography Websites:
Academy of Achievers - Leaders, visionaries and pioneers who shaped the world.
Biography.com - Famous biographies
Internet Public Library Biographies - Links to biography websites.
Hyper History Timeline - History timeline with brief bios for important people including scientists, artists, composers and politicians.
Multnomah County Library Mega-Bio Site - Links to hundreds of biography websites.
Times 100 - Biographies from Times magazine

Actors/Actresses Biographies
About.com
Ringling Images of 19th Century Actors
Biography.com
Info Please.com
Internet Broadway Database
Internet Movie Database
New York Times Biographies
PBS Biographies
Open Directory
Who's Who in Musicals
 

Authors:
Academy of American Poets
African American Women Writers of the 19th Century
Great Writers & Prize Winners
 

Theatre Occupations

The Occupational Handbook - Musicians, Singers
The Occupational Handbook - Actors, Producer, Directors
The Occupational Handbook - Dancers and Choreographers