Skip to main content

Foreign Language WA: Home

Resources to help you find newspaper or magazine articles to complete your WA

The WA Assignment

Spanish Language Databases

There are three databases available with articles written in Spanish.

Ebsco

Select Referencia Latina

  • Click on advanced search - Búsqueda avanzada under the search bar.
  • Click off full text - Texto completo
  • Type words and phrases in spanish
  • Use the Word AND to connect concepts when you search for information
    • Example censura AND medios
  • You need to find an article with a very small word limit.
    • Limit your search by page number - Número de páginas
      • Type in 1 – for one page
      • Or Type in a page range 1 -2.

Proquest

To get to the Foreign Language databases click on the Proquest link. This will take you to the Proquest Databases and trial Databases.

  • Use the ADVANCED SEARCH
    • Type in your keywords (in Spanish).
    • If you want, select a specific type of document (Example: editorial, news,etc.)
    • Select Spanish for your language

 

 

Advanced Google Search Spanish

Steps to perform an advanced news search in Google.

  1. Enter your term in spanish. Ex.:censora Y medios
  2. When your results come back, go to the cog wheel in the right hand corner. Drop down menu and select Advanced Search.
  3. Add additional terms if you wish. For example add the words internet or prensa 
  4. Select the language - Spanish
  5. Select the region - Choose a Spanish speaking country.
  6. Select Advanced Search
  7. When results appear, select NEWS from the top menu.

Didn't get the results you were hoping for? Change your search terms.

French Language Databases

Use the Proquest Database to find articles for your WA

To get to the Foreign Language databases click on the Proquest link. This will take you to the Proquest Databases and trial Databases.

How to search ALL Proquest Databases:

  • Use the ADVANCED SEARCH
    • Type in your keywords (in French).
    • If you want, select a specific type of document (Example: editorial, news,etc.)
    • Select French for your language

Foreign Language News and Newspaper Links

If you wish to look at individual Newspapers and Magazine, here are links to a website that provide individual links to specific periodicals. Make sure you evaluate your source before choosing an article from it for your WA. When in doubt,, check with your teacher.

Foreign Language News and Newspapers

 

French Language Newspapers Links

Language Newspaper Country Category
       
French Journal de Québec Canada News
French La Liberté Switzerland News
French La Presse Canada News
French La Republique France News
French La Revue Du Liban Lebanon News
French La Tribune France Business
French L'actualité Canada News
French Le Devoir Canada News
French Le Droit Canada News
French Le Matin Canada News
French Le Monde France News
French Le Monde Diplomatique France News
French Le Progres en Ligne France News
French Le Soir en Ligne Belgium News
French Les Echos France Business
French L'Express France News
French L'Humanite France News
French Libération France News
French Ouest-France France News
French Planète Québec Canada News
French Voir Canada News

Advanced Google Search French

Steps to perform an advanced news search in Google.

  1. Enter your term in French. Ex.: le réchauffement de la planète. 
  2. When your results come back, go to the cog wheel in the right hand corner. Drop down menu and select Advanced Search.
  3. Add additional terms if you wish. For example add the words l'effet de serre or la pluie acide depending on your focus of the topic le réchauffement de la planète. 
  4. Select the language - French
  5. Select the region - Choose a French speaking country.
  6. Select Advanced Search
  7. When results appear, select NEWS from the top menu.

Didn't get the results you were hoping for? Change your search terms.